Home » The Love Remains by Katherine Kamaemae Smith
The Love Remains Katherine Kamaemae Smith

The Love Remains

Katherine Kamaemae Smith

Published November 1st 2006
ISBN : 9780972342056
Paperback
276 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

In the tradition of Michener, The Love Remains chronicles the dramatic events of 19th century Maui, through the life of Kale Davis, the last Hawaiian Chiefess to rule the land now known as Kapalua Resort. He waiwai oukou i kau ike.so preciousMoreIn the tradition of Michener, The Love Remains chronicles the dramatic events of 19th century Maui, through the life of Kale Davis, the last Hawaiian Chiefess to rule the land now known as Kapalua Resort. He waiwai oukou i kau ike.so precious are our ancestors in my eyes. I was transported to the times of my kupuna, as if it were a movie in my mind. This is a historical novel that wont disappoint. -Aloha Kekoolani, M.A., Instructor, Hawaiian-Pacific Island Studies, Honolulu Community CollegeWith consummate skill, Katherine Smith creates far more than a mere romance. Through interaction of her main protagonists, she documents the rich cultural, ethnic, and linguistic history of Hawaiis Old Kingdom during a period of irrevocable expansion. -Randolph Klawiter, PhD., Professor Emeritus, Notre Dame UniversityIn 1817, 20-yr-old Kale Davis flees a broken marriage, hoping Honokahua, Maui will be her refuge and a place of belonging. Instead, this poor fishing and farming village awarded to Kales late father by Kamehameha the Great, makes far greater demands-and offers much sweeter rewards-than the young chiefess could even imagine.Torn between her Hawaiian and Caucasian roots, uncertain about her own abilities and unprepared for leadership, Kale can offer only her keen intelligence, a deep love for the land and her solemn oath to rule her people righteously. With steadfast determination and help from her five husbands, Kale leads Honokahua through drought, famine, epidemics and a time of frenetic change that threatens to sweep away a millennia-old culture, transforming Hawaii from Old Kingdom to Industrial Age in just five decades. Even as Honokahua and herpeople thrive, Kale suffers sacrifice, violence and heartbreak before finding spiritual completeness and enduring love.